A Must Read: We Should All Be Feminists

We Should All Be Feminists cvr

Besides geeky things, throughout 2015, I have been devouring all things feminism, especially intersectional feminism (what a good year to start being a feminist too!). I read articles on how books, the media, and the actresses and role models we look up to affect the women who idolize them. There are so many articles and reasons why there should be more diversity, more intersectionality in the media and pop culture we consume in order to reflect the reality we see every day.

I stumbled upon an article that stated that every 16-year-old Sweden will receive a copy of “We Should All Be Feminists” by a woman named Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. The definition of the word alone is still being debated, so to hear that 16-year-olds reading about “the f-word” kind of boggled my mind. I’m struggling with feminism, how can 16-year-olds read about this, let alone debate and interpret it?!  (No hate to 16-year-olds, if anything, I’m jealous that they have the opportunity!) After reading the essay, I can see why.

What makes “We Should All Be Feminists” so beautiful is its simplicity. Chimamanda’s writing is simple, down to earth and beautiful. Her reasonings are written so eloquently and naturally that it just makes the issues that feminism addresses so obvious. Why are people still arguing that we need feminism today? Have them read this, and everything shall be clear.

My first experience with Chimamanda’s work was her TED Talk “The Danger of A Single Story” and I was obsessed with her (in a good way) ever since. I immediately bought “We Should All Be Feminists”, read it and was blown away.

The great thing about this work? After reading this, I didn’t think that all men are douchebags. It didn’t make me want to be a man-hater or stop wearing make-up. On the contrary, I felt even more love and the need to be more compassionate to everyone, regardless of the gender, race and other characteristics we define ourselves with.

So Sweden kids, I consider you all very, very lucky. I only hope they’ll get something profound out of it. I know I did. I can only hope that somehow this essay will be passed around in the states somehow as well.

Ugh, there are so many quotes I might as well type out the whole essay in this post, but I won’t! This is one of the (many) passages that made me stop and think, ‘what if’?

The problem with gender is that it prescribes how we *should* be rather than recognizing how we are. Imagine how much happier we would be, how much freer to be our true individual selves, if we didn’t have the weight of gender expectations.

 

 

Leave a Reply

