A Personal Regard to the Slow Regard of Silent Things

Slow Regard of Silent Things

Title: The Slow Regard of Silent Things
Author: Patrick Rothfuss
Publisher: DAW Books, Inc
Why? Because Auri’s the beeessssst
Keywords: Auri, world-building, mysterious, weird lonely beautiful character, soap

“This story is for all the slightly broken people out there. I am one of you. You are not alone. You are all beautiful to me.” – Patrick Rothfuss

Man, I finally got around to getting to not only re-reading The Name of the Wind, but read The Wise Man’s Fear JUST to read the newest installment, The Slow Regard of Silent Things. No, it is not the final book in this trilogy, but Auri is my favorite character so I was stoked about this little gem.

The Sitch:

This takes place when during the week that Kvothe kinda disappears, but not before telling Auri that he’ll be away awhile. This book kind of gives a glimpse of a week-in-the-life of everyone’s Below Weird Child. The “plot”, if it can be called one, is to find gifts for Kvothe before he gets back.

Now, I can see why people can be bored or frustrated with this novella. In the main series, Auri is whimsical, mysterious as heck and elusive. If anyone is looking for any hard evidence of why she’s this way, you won’t find it here. And I loved that. Even Rothfuss mentions that he spends nearly a whole chapter of Auri making soap and this should not happen in a book. However, the slow pace, the whimsical tones, it just fits because it’s Auri, and you can sense the sadness, the loneliness she can and does feel, but what makes it beautiful is that she knows her flaws and that she may be broken, but moves forward anyway and in the end, it’s her choice.  She lives like this because in the end, after whatever she’s been through, she chose this path and she most likely wouldn’t have it any other way. As the reader, you do get a just a little taste, that something not-so-good happened to her and probably cracked her mind. During a scene in one of the books, she shows us that she is very aware of what goes around the school and hints that she not only learned, but she was pretty damn good at it. Just seeing this scene makes me want A) a novella about Elodin and B) some more scenes with these 2 together because they would probably be the craziest duo ever.

I loved this book. Then again, this book came at a time when I needed it. I’ve been going through really personal things in my life, and this book spoke to me. I think this is the first time I really “connected” emotionally with a character and felt that he/she is sharing an inkling of what I’m feeling now. What really spoke to me was that what other people may see as a flaw (like, how she may not be in the same mental wavelength as everyone else), she doesn’t, not really and is accepting of it. I’m kind of going through this change of mindset myself so it really touched me. It’s amazing really, how writers can bring feelings like that to life in a fictional character and have it touch people this way.

Verdict?

Fans of Auri, more world-building, and who just want more of Rothfuss’ work can’t really go wrong with this book. But don’t expect crazy action or the sometimes full-of-it-I’m-so-good-at-everything Kvothe. Unless you count making soap and grabbing a huge gear from the water as action. Besides, we all know who the real star is. It’s about time Auri has a time to shine.

Word Gems:

“It was wise enough to know itself, and brave enough to BE itself, and wild enough to change itself while somehow staying altogether true.”

Leave a Reply

