Foodie Friday: Gussie’s Chicken and Waffles

I keep telling myself next time I go to a southern food restaurant I *will* try something new. Like a meal with collard greens or black eyed peas or something. But no, since I rarely go to southern food restaurants, I tend to get the same, bad-but-oh-so-goood  weird but awesome combination: chicken & waffles. While hanging out in the city with my brother, he pointed this place out: Gussie’s.

20130222_191820
chicken & waffles, a romantic meal..?

 

I was surprised at the low-lighting, almost romantic setting of the restaurant. Hope I don’t come off as a food racist (foodist?) or anything, but southern food, or at least chicken & waffles don’t give me that romantic dinner for two vibe. I’ve always imagined southern food as the ultimate comfort food where you just enjoy mom’s/auntie’s cooking, calories be damned.

When I was looking at the menu and tempted to try other non-waffle things, like collard greens and black eyed peas, I saw Gussie’s signature sweet potato waffles. Sweet potatoes. Waffles. I was doomed from the start. And of *course* I had to add the fried chicken. Pretty sketch of them to not automatically add the chicken, but whatever.

 

20130222_184207
Gussie’s signature sweet potato waffles + fried chicken

 

I wish the chicken had a bit more meat in them, but the star of the show for me were the waffles anyway and they were amazing. And pretty big (that’swhatshesaid, sorry I had to). My brother and I shared jalapeno hush puppies while I washed it down with some southern sweet tea.

The sweet potato waffles alone are worth going to Gussie’s, but you can probably get more portion for your buck elsewhere. The place is definitely good enough that I’d want to try other food on the menu. Just don’t let me look at the chicken & waffles section. You can check out the website here: Gussie’s Chicken and Waffles

Leave a Reply

