Foodie Friday: Mochimochimochimochi

Good news: I got a job. Huzzah!

Kinda sorta bad news: The commute leaves me zombified which I just trudge to my room and pass out to start the process all over again.

Good news: I’m pretty much eating my way through San Francisco so I’ll possibly have more Foodie stuff to post about. Huzzah!

About a month ago I was doing my usual Amazon book splurge and I finally decided to purchase a mochi recipe book I had my eye on for a while, thanks to Deb Aoki, a manga critic/ foodie who I kinda stalk on Twitter. So.

Put a face on any food and it becomes the cutest thing EVER
Put a face on any food and it becomes the cutest thing EVER

I *loooove* mochi and with my new baking, I figured why not? Doesn’t seem too bad. And it isn’t. Well, Jenn Fujikawa’s way anyway. She puts a lot more than just anko in her recipes—I tried a PB&J and sweet potato mochi (separate recipes of course). The PB&J mochi was hard since the book doesn’t state how much mochi to tear off and fill. Apparently I suck at guestimating so I ended up with gigantic ones and ones where it was ooozing with peanut butter and strawberry jam deliciousness. And you know what? That’s fine with me! The sweet potato was just a mix-and-bake deal. To be honest I’m not really sure if I did it correctly since the top of the “mochi” had a crispy exterior and had the feel and texture of a chewy bread than what I usually envision when I think of mochi, but it tasted good (so my friends say). Sad to say I think I forgot to take a picture of the sweet potato mochi. All in all, I like this book and will try the other recipes, especially the savory ones. I just wish there was more detail on the measurements and timing. Pictures for every recipe would have been nice too.

 the best looking ones of the lot
the best looking ones of the lot. Er, don’t mind the color

 

Leave a Reply

