Where No Teen Has Gone Before: The Galahad series

Summary:

When the tail of the comet Bhaktul flicks through the Earth’s atmosphere, deadly particles are left in its wake. Suddenly, mankind is confronted with a virus that devastates the adult population. Only those under the age of eighteen seem to be immune. Desperate to save humanity, a renowned scientist proposes a bold plan: to create a ship that will carry a crew of 251 teenagers to a home in a distant solar system. Two years later, the “Galahad” and its crew–none over the age of sixteen–is launched.

Why? I won the series at one of The Book Smugglers’ giveaways.I loooove that site.  I was so excited, I *never* win these kind of things! Thanks to them my book wishlist just keeps growing…plus after reading NK Jemisin’s Dreamblood duology and The Hobbit I wanted to read something sci-fi.

.02 on Story

The series follows the 251 teenagers throughout their journey to the closest planet capable of sustaining human life. Since leaving Earth they have to deal with alien life forms, wormholes, a stowaway, and of course, each other. As if being a teenager didn’t have enough baggage, these kids have to worry about representing the human race to other possible species in the universe. No pressure guys! The teenagers are awesome and almost sound too good to be true; they’re intelligent and responsible. I don’t remember any character whining or griping about their fate. They were saddened by losing their families and homesick, but they understood their responsibility and carried on. That’s not to say they didn’t have the usual adolescent baggage like crushes and the like, but they were mature enough to see the problem and work through it with the help of each other.  I think the story did a good job showing what the teenagers are going through, enough that in the crazy event that this *would* happen in real life, I could imagine the actions in The Galahad series being played out. The book also asks some pretty interesting questions like how *would* we react to another species? Where does our faith fit in the grand scheme of the universe? As for the sci-fi, the technology isn’t really explained and is taken as-is, but it didn’t feel like the story was lacking in any way.

.02 on Characters

The story mostly centers around the Council though the side characters that do show up are strong and just as memorable.  Triana, the leader of this voyage was my favorite character. I’m sure Roc the super computer would be a favorite for many teens who would read this, but for me most of his jokes didn’t work for me. It could be my age talking ^^;;

.02 on Romance

Funny how I always gripe about too much romance in my YA, and just when I read a book without much I start wanting more of it…By the end of the series it almost became a ‘there’s just something about Bon’ that all the girls swooned over despite his sourpuss attitude. Honestly, what a confused dude. Does he really like Triana? And the whole sudden thing with Lita, the doctor? I had to admit, I was intrigued with the relationship between him and Triana. None of the romance in this series had a concrete ending. I wish there was some resolve there.

.02 on Anything Else?

I LOVE how diverse the cast is, which makes sense if you’re going to rebuild humanity. Um, for some reason, I don’t really like the covers for this series. *shrugs* Also, I think this would make a pretty cool anime series.

Give it a try? Sure, if you like snarky AI computers, diverse, kick ass teens, space, spaceships, Stargate, and aliens. Don’t let the covers deter you.

Quotes:

“Roc,” she called out. “What do you do when you have a gigantic jigsaw puzzle, all of the pieces are blank, and you have no picture to go by?”

“I don’t know about you,” the computer answered, “but I would throw it in the trash and practice my dance moves.”

…granted a gift that no other  human had ever received: the chance to experience −and appreciate−the crossing of a barrier between worlds, between alternate realities, and to know transitions of this nature could never end at the doorway itself. There would always be another side.

Title: The Galahad series (The Comet’s Curse, The Web of Titan, The Cassini Code, The Dark Zone, Cosmic Storm, The Galahad Legacy)
Author: Dom Testa
Pages: each book is nearly 300 pages
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication: 2004 to 2012
Series: 6 books, complete

Leave a Reply

