Foodie Friday: Cranberry Nut Bread

Always forget to take the pic *before* chowing down
Always forget to take the pic *before* chowing down

I can’t believe I’ve only eaten real, legit cranberries a week ago. I’m addicted to Ocean Spray Craisins, but I know that doesn’t really count. So I was really shocked at how *tart* cranberries really are. Jeezus. Well anyway, I checked the back of the package and there was a recipe for a cranberry nut bread. Cranberries + bread must = amazing.

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 1/2  tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup orange juice (used Simply orange juice with mango because that’s what I had)
2 Tbsp veggie oil
1 Tbsp grated orange peel
1 egg, well beaten
1 1/2 cups frozen or fresh cranberries, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used pecans because again, had extra from the Soul Sweet Taters recipe)

9×5 inch loaf pan

1.  Heat oven to 350 F. Mix the dry stuff (flour, sugar baking powder, soda, and salt) in a medium mixing bowl.

2. Stir the orange juice, oil, peel and egg and mix until well blended.

3. Stir in cranberries and nuts.

4. Pop in the oven and bake for 55 minutes until it clears the toothpick test.

Results:

With my oven it took about 53 minutes I think. The bread was soft and kind of came apart after slicing so I’m not sure if that’s how it’s supposed to be or not. I’m not much of a fan of orange in my baking stuff, but I have to say it went really well with this bread and was tasty to eat for breakfast. Definitely keeping this recipe.

Leave a Reply

