Foodie Friday! Afternoon Tea @ The Fairmont

I kind of have an obsession with British afternoon tea, thanks to my trip to London(a post about my trip there can be found on my other blog here). I thought I would never have afternoon tea outside of England, but crazily enough there are places in the US that do it. There are a few in Vegas, one which I’ve tried and it was meh. The next one I tried was in The Fairmont hotel and my sis and I took my aunt there for her birthday. Lucky for me she likes British things too and always wanted to experience afternoon tea.

Similar to my experience in London, the food was pretty much decided and you just choose your tea. I chose maple maple while my aunt and my sis had a jasmine and a berry tea respectively.

First came the savory stuff.

egg salad, salmon, cucumber sandwiches and prosciutto crepe
egg salad, salmon, cucumber sandwiches and prosciutto crepe

The proscuitto crepe had fig jam and though good was way overpowering.

Next, the moment of truth: the scones.

seasonal scones served with lemon curd and Devon cream
seasonal scones served with lemon curd and Devon cream

My only complaint that for the amount we paid we just got two tiny scones. Delicious though. I think one had cranberries in it.

The last part of the meal, the dessert, was the one I felt like it was out of place. Don’t get me wrong it was tasty as heck, but I didn’t really get this fancy dessert in any other afternoon teas. I guess I would’ve preferred more scones ^_~  Maybe it’s a perk for having it in The Fairmont?

I almost didn't want to eat it, it was so pretty
I almost didn’t want to eat it, it was so pretty

I really liked the cassis mousse….

My aunt enjoyed our little tea session though we all agreed it was worth doing only once. Especially at $32 a head. The hunt for a decent scone and cup of tea continues. Sigh.

EXTRA CREDIT: I made scones for my aunt as her birthday present and bought her devon cream at World Market.

Deformed, but tasty imho
Deformed, but tasty imho
Leave a Reply

