Wait Just Got Here: Reading The Hobbit

nice journal-esque version

 

Why?

To be honest I never had the intention of reading The Hobbit. I’m probably going to be be smited for this, but I read The Lord of the Rings first, then watched the movies, and in either form I never really had an interest in the character Bilbo and his journey with the dwarves. Dwarves aren’t really my favorite race *shrugs* Then of course the inevitable news came around that The Hobbit was being made into a movie and I heard about who would be cast as Bilbo Baggins. Martin. F*ckin. Freeman. Watson. Watson. Awesome Watson is going to be Bilbo. And Cumberpatch as Smaug the dragon?! YES. So I guess to sum it up the main reason why I finally read The Hobbit is because I’m shallow. >_>

Reaction?

OMG Bilbo where have you been all my life?! How awesome is Bilbo Baggins?! This poor hobbit, minding his own business and not wanting any adventures and would just like to smoke, have a pint and eat somewhere in between thankyouverymuch gets thrown into helping out some dwarves get their kingdom and treasure back (THANKS Gandalf you troll! Though the intro scene of the dwarves and eating everything is *hilarious*) Of course an adventure is never that simple and he ends up encountering trolls, goblins and getting smack dab in the middle of duking it out with dragons and pretty much all races of Middle Earth. Oh and happens to find a shiny ring.

Compared to LotR, the book is definitely aimed at a younger audience, but I think that’s what I *really* enjoyed about it. LotR and other books pertaining to ME such as The Silmarillion are pretty….dense to say the least, sometimes reading like history textbooks. I really have to be in a certain reading mood to read Tolkien’s works, but The Hobbit is the opposite and doesn’t have much info dumping, although the long songs/poetry are still there which I still skipped/skimmed *ahem*. Like Star Wars, it’s also kind of nice reading the prequel after the main series since in The Hobbit, you see the beginnings of significant things in LotR. Not only the ring, but also on the Necromancer/Sauron and further elaboration on Moria.

What, or rather who makes the book worth it is Bilbo himself. I loved how you can see his change from reluctant traveler to unexpected leader and hero and still keep his hobbit roots. Even after his realization that yes, he *can* fight and actually do this adventure stuff he still complains about not eating enough and just wanting to be back at Bag End. I think I really enjoyed the fact how   unassuming Bilbo’s change into a hero was and how he didn’t have a complete change in personality. In the end Bilbo is still a hobbit. Who just happens to kick a little ass and steal stuff if need be.

And how awesome is it that it’s hobbits that save the day in the LotR series? These unassuming, overlooked people save everyone else’s butts because they’re too busy bickering. Maybe its because there’s too much bad history between humans, elves, and dwarves. Hobbits are kind of the neutral ground and just end up shouldering the responsibility because well, somebody’s gotta do it. I guess that’s what makes them amazing.

I am so glad I read this book. As I have my LotR:EE marathon for The Hobbit, I can only imagine how Peter Jackson can once again amaze us with his adaptation (and 48 fps!). I can’t wait!


Fav quotes

We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner! -Bilbo Baggins

If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. -Thorin Oakenshield

Leave a Reply

