Foodie Friday: What I’m thankful for

I hope everyone had a good turkey weekend last week and good hunting with the Black Fridays and Cyber Mondays that actually  last all week/month! Just when I was on a roll with blogging, sigh, family had to get in the way. And Wreck It Ralph (which is awesome by the way go see it!). Tsk tsk. Then again, last Thursday was my first Thanksgiving back in the states so I was really grateful that I was here to celebrate with my family. And eat turkey again, *man* did I miss the convenience of eating turkey whenever I wanted to! No surprise that Japan doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving, but for some reason the fact that they didn’t know the awesome food-fest of whole roast turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, and pie really saddened me. I would show pictures of a typical Thanksgiving dinner to my students and their eyes would just pop out! And the look on their faces when I show them what the heck a turkey is! Although they do have a word for that odd bird (七面鳥、しちめんちょう, or 7-faced bird…kinda), you don’t see them around the neighborhood, let alone on their dinner plate (except at Subways). Japan’s a porky nation. But despite the food setbacks, my fellow ALTs and I made do (you can see my Turkey Day adventures on my Japan blog here) That is why this Thanksgiving, I was thankful for turkey.

thanksgiving 2012

Mmm…turkey how I’ve missed you

In addition to the Soul Sweet Taters I made, I brought cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory thanks to my discount at Barnes & Noble. I split the cake so the family could get a chance to try a majority of the cheesecake flavors like chocolate, pumpkin and the original. My favorite was the red velvet cheesecake.

thanksgiving 2012 2

I nearly died after eating a whole piece, it was so rich! I even scraped off a majority of the cream. Well if I did die, death by red velvet doesn’t sound like a bad way to go.

Leave a Reply

