Foodie Friday: Thanksgiving Soul Sweet Taters

So about a month ago I tried  a sweet potato dessert I found on the Fall issue of Food Network. I loooove any kind of sweet potato or yam. I really miss Japan right now because fall/winter time = さつまいも (sweet potato) time. A baked sweet potato was the perfect food for Japan’s cold weather; I would stuff myself at home because neighbors/schools would give it to me and I’d gorge myself on them during winter festivals. You didn’t even have to do anything fancy with them: just bake it for 10 or so minutes and BAM! Instant deliciousness. Sweet potatoes are probably the reason why I survived Japanese winter. So when I found FN Magazine’s section of sweet potato desserts I was like, ‘Eureka!!!’ I tried the recipe and I decided that if it was tasty enough, I’d bring this to the family Thanksgiving get together. And luckily enough, it was!

SOUL SWEET TATERS

Don’t let my crappy pic trick you. It’s tasty I swear!

The link to the recipe is on the Food Network site. Might be on the too sweet side for some, but I kind of have a sweet tooth. Plus, my dad’s not a big fan on the sweets either, but he ended up eating more than his fair share so I guess that’s saying something. I guess my sister will be making Ina’s Pasta, Pesto and Peas recipe next week. My mom made it years back and we *loved* it.

Besides the turkey and mashed potatoes and gravy, my family doesn’t really have a set Thanksgiving dinner. Does anyone else have Thanksgiving must-makes? I think it’s neat that some families have recipes they make just for certain occasions.

 

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Thanksgiving Soul Sweet Taters

Leave a Reply

